kindel ann

August 24, 2008

I don’t know how I ever lived without it…

Filed under: Fun,Internet,Lists,Miscellaneous,Music,Recommendations — Kindel @ 12:27 am

My new favorite website is definitely Pandora. It’s fantastic!

Pandora is the radio…online…but without all the stupid commercials and you get to choose what music you want to listen to! All you have to do is register for membership (don’t worry, it’s free!) and then create your own station based on a favorite artist or song. Pandora then compiles thousands of songs and artists into your very own radio station!

The first radio station I made was, of course, Nickel Creek. It played tons of songs-many by Alison Krauss and other bluegrass-ish artists. Also on the playlist was music by an artist named Joshua Radin. I immediately fell in love with his voice and music so I created a station based on him. This has been my favorite and the one I listen to most often because I heard of music by artists I’ve never heard before such as:

  • Imogen Heap
  • Rachel Yamagata
  • Josh Kelley
  • Matt Nathanson
  • Josh Rouse

And it played music by artists I had heard before but didn’t have the opportunity to listen to as often as I’d like:

  • Iron and Wine
  • Ben Harper
  • Jack Johnson
  • Glen Hansard
  • Andy Davis

The Joshua Radin station plays Nickel Creek, too, so I’m pretty much in Heaven when I listen to Pandora. I also learned recently that Pandora has a widget for the Vista desktop! Now I can close my browser and still listen! It’s great!

Pandora also gives you information on the artists and songs and you can give a song a thumbs up or down! There are tons of other features that I haven’t figured out yet so if you figure out something new, let me know!

1 Comment »

  1. This is true. Pandora is the best music related website that I have ever found.

    Comment by Russell Purvis — August 24, 2008 @ 11:38 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

